Blowout Cards Forums
AD Heritage

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > BASEBALL

Notices

BASEBALL Post your Baseball Cards Hobby Talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2022, 01:47 PM   #26
OhioLawyerF5
Member
 
OhioLawyerF5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 7,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitmm View Post
Yeah, reread what I said, I specifically said the one from the rulebook, which you said was exactly like this. It's not, the runner on third didn't properly tag up. Which also means that he didn't properly touch the bases in the correct order. The umps are the ones that rule if a runner has properly touched the bases in the correct order. He didn't and the third out was recorded before he did
That doesn't matter. The runner is not a force out regardless. THAT is why that was posted, not because every detail was exact same. I posted that in specific response to your claim that it was a force out. Nothing more.
OhioLawyerF5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 01:48 PM   #27
whitmm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Wisc
Posts: 11,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioLawyerF5 View Post
No dispute they got the call on the field wrong that the runner tagged up.

But everything that happened after that incorrect call was done according to the rules (i.e. that if the runner tagged as they called, the run counts and that the appeal could not take place after the players left the field).
Yeah, I figured, you are arguing something different. The only thing they got right was that an appeal after the team left the field.

They missed that an appeal was made by Adrianza staying on the base well after the third out was called. They missed ruling that the runner on third didn't properly tag up and therefore by touching home he touched the bases in the incorrect order,
whitmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 01:50 PM   #28
OhioLawyerF5
Member
 
OhioLawyerF5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 7,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitmm View Post
Yeah, I figured, you are arguing something different. The only thing they got right was that an appeal after the team left the field.

They missed that an appeal was made by Adrianza staying on the base well after the third out was called. They missed ruling that the runner on third didn't properly tag up and therefore by touching home he touched the bases in the incorrect order,
Well I still disagree an appeal was made. They hadn't even ruled him safe at home until long after the players left the field. So there was clearly no appeal made.
OhioLawyerF5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 01:54 PM   #29
whitmm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Wisc
Posts: 11,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioLawyerF5 View Post
Well I still disagree an appeal was made. They hadn't even ruled him safe at home until long after the players left the field. So there was clearly no appeal made.
See. They never should have ruled him safe at home because he never properly tagged up. In fact, there never should been an appeal needed.

Adrianza said the umpire told him he never saw him step on third. I don't know when this was said, but I'm guessing that it happened after the umps got together and the players left the field. That's on the ump for not paying attention. Watching the clip, Adrianza is staring at the ump, the ump looks at him while he's still making it clear he's on the base for reason.
whitmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 02:00 PM   #30
OhioLawyerF5
Member
 
OhioLawyerF5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 7,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitmm View Post
See. They never should have ruled him safe at home because he never properly tagged up. In fact, there never should been an appeal needed.

Adrianza said the umpire told him he never saw him step on third. I don't know when this was said, but I'm guessing that it happened after the umps got together and the players left the field. That's on the ump for not paying attention. Watching the clip, Adrianza is staring at the ump, the ump looks at him while he's still making it clear he's on the base for reason.
Again, I agree they missed that call. But that doesn't change the fact that it couldn't be an appeal until the safe call was made (which came much later after the umps discussed it). The procedure after blowing the call was all correct. And had the defense not left the field until it got figured out, they would have gotten it right because they were following the rulebook. Their ONLY error was not realizing the runner didn't tag.
OhioLawyerF5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 02:14 PM   #31
whitmm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Wisc
Posts: 11,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioLawyerF5 View Post
Again, I agree they missed that call. But that doesn't change the fact that it couldn't be an appeal until the safe call was made (which came much later after the umps discussed it). The procedure after blowing the call was all correct. And had the defense not left the field until it got figured out, they would have gotten it right because they were following the rulebook. Their ONLY error was not realizing the runner didn't tag.
If you're doing a math problem and start with an error in the formula, everything after that is wrong. It doesn't matter if you follow the procedure correctly, because you started with incorrect information, every step in the procedure is wrong. Same thing here.

The safe call never should have been made. Especially after a long meeting like that. And I'm not sure how they could even make the error of not realizing the runner didn't tag. On that play, the runner on third is the main responsibility of the third base ump. The out on the line drive was called right away. How the third base ump doesn't see that the runner never returned to third base is beyond me.

Who cares if the Nationals left the field and therefore couldn't make an appeal? They never should have even needed to consider making an appeal, because how do the umps screw it up that bad. I'll admit, I used the wrong term in thinking it was a "force out" and that really wasn't anything I was arguing. Failing to touch the bases in the proper order (which in this case is going back and tagging third before heading home) means they never should have ruled the run scored.

It sounds like you are blaming the Nationals for the umps getting the call so wrong to begin with.

Last edited by whitmm; 06-30-2022 at 02:29 PM.
whitmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 02:15 PM   #32
Fenway55
Member
 
Fenway55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 6,845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioLawyerF5 View Post
Um, stepping on the base was to get the OTHER runner out, not the batter.
In response to my hypothetical, you wrote (direct quote, your words):

"Stepping on the base is the play to get the batter out, not an appeal."

to which I responded that the batter is out when the line drive was caught, not when the base was stepped on.

It now seems that maybe you made a typo and meant to type "runner" and not "batter" in that sentence, but you certainly can not blame me for there being a bit of confusion.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhioLawyerF5 View Post
I read your scenario. You specifically said the first baseman steps on first after catching the ball to get the runner out. That is not an appeal, that is getting an out on a runner who did not tag up. Are you suggesting that every time you throw out a runner who strayed to far off the bag on a fly out it is considered an appeal? Because it most certainly is not.
You're right. Stepping on first base in my scenario is not an appeal. Similarly, in the Nats game, stepping on third is not an appeal. The runner who advanced is automatically out when the base was stepped on - even though that makes 4 outs in the inning.

Let's assume there were zero outs when the play started. Would the run still have counted and the inning continue with only 2 outs? After all, the 3rd baseman didn't announce "Appeal!"

Last edited by Fenway55; 06-30-2022 at 02:19 PM.
Fenway55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 02:30 PM   #33
calculusdork
Member
 
calculusdork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Nowheresville
Posts: 26,683
Default

Man, I was just commenting on the uniqueness of the situation and y'all turned it into a "everything the umps did wrong" discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenway55 View Post
Similarly, in the Nats game, stepping on third is not an appeal. The runner who advanced is automatically out when the base was stepped on - even though that makes 4 outs in the inning.
See, I think that's the rub. Because tagging the runner who left second base early is the third out ... stepping on third base now does nothing. The Nationals have to appeal, then step on third ... which results in the "apparent fourth out" situation. Without an official appeal, the run scores.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fenway55 View Post
Let's assume there were zero outs when the play started. Would the run still have counted and the inning continue with only 2 outs? After all, the 3rd baseman didn't announce "Appeal!"
To the best of my understanding ... no. The appeal is necessary singularly because there are already three outs.
calculusdork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 02:42 PM   #34
whitmm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Wisc
Posts: 11,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calculusdork View Post
Man, I was just commenting on the uniqueness of the situation and y'all turned it into a "everything the umps did wrong" discussion
That's because the only reason it was such a unique situation is because the umps got it so wrong. If the umps make the correct ruling to start with, especially with the long powwow, the run doesn't score and it just goes down as a double play.
whitmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 02:47 PM   #35
panamamyers
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no10pin View Post
Not saying it's the way it should work, but I think the issue is that as soon as he tags the runner on third, the inning is technically over. It would require more of an official appeal than just stepping on the bag right afterwards.

Had he stepped on the bag before tagging the runner, it would have been a non-issue, but since the 3rd out technically makes it a dead ball, the continuation of the play doesn't count.
100% this.
panamamyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2022, 04:07 PM   #36
Giroux
Member
 
Giroux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: USA
Posts: 4,891
Default

Insanely dumb rules
Giroux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright © 2019, Blowout Cards Inc.